The terrible nightmare 

“I keep having this awful nightmare” I explained to the duty officer at the recent “Amnesty for Arsonists” fun day  as part of “Resilience in Policing Britain in the absence of backbone  and bobbies on the beat “..I had attracted to attention of three particular gruesome constables  as I explained with a lilting Irish manner ..my grin was annoying the Sargent who would have much preferred to give me a good kicking and be home in time for Dancing on Ice … “There is a big diesel engine hurtling out of control  flanked on all sides by billowing smoke and long beautiful tresses of crimson and ochre flames .. I can here  the Ring cycle  and if I squint I am sure Zoltan is by mind side …there is nothing I can do I feel helpless  and a tiny bit guilty “…three arms press me to the floor and a harmonised Guilty prompts me to continue …..”Well In my dream I have a funny feeling I might have started the engine  poured petrol everywhere set it alight and jumped off laughing ” …ten arms and a magistrate  are really making me a bit ticklish …”I mean it is only a dream after all ..”….They sigh in relief, pick me up and give  me a pat on the back and laugh nervously ….Thanked them and made my excuses explaining I had to go home to get put of these charred trousers and do something about the awful.smell of petrol …

About mauricewoconnell

Maurice OConnell is a Creative based in Cornwall concentrating on Writing and Unique theatrical appearances.. He continues to imagine a world twice as exciting and dangerous than it could possibly ever be View all posts by mauricewoconnell

Leave a Reply

