The Biscuits 

“Definitely the biscuits tins have got smaller “…The chairman of the residents association was beginning to regret that ,one he had invited me and, two he offered me an opportunity to speak …however as  he looked around the room it appeared a groundswell of support was in favour of my conjecture …refilling my lung I continued ” as a child in the 1970s mother used stuff my self and brothers including sisters into a biscuit tin whenever we had visitors..”.I paused for dramatic purposes and the lice had started to rouse in my boden shirt ….continuing” I look at the same tin today  of which you can barely fit the biscuits in let alone six infants !! ” all eyes were on me now There was rapturous applause  and I was carried out into the  warm balmy spring evening to chants” The tins are smaller!!!!!!!!” The chairman alone now ,realised times were changing ,tucking his spectacles into his sports jacket ..he reached for the  light switch …In the centre of the table was a tired old tin with just two crumbled digestives ….mumbling as his sandals crunched the gravel he then muttered “perhaps he is right”

About mauricewoconnell

Maurice OConnell is a Creative based in Cornwall concentrating on Writing and Unique theatrical appearances.. He continues to imagine a world twice as exciting and dangerous than it could possibly ever be View all posts by mauricewoconnell

Leave a Reply

