The Development of Self

the development of self…. My mother was not without wit and found ways in which her children  could establish a strong sense of self. ..having six children meant she had to work fast and be consistant. ..in my case it was my hair  ..despite my granmother pleading for the adoration of my piano fingers  my mother  beatified my hair. .on only occassion did she take my fecund copper hair to a salon  where i was told in no uncertain terms my hair was special  and  from that point on wards it was only to be air dried. .a towel used sparingly    and avoid  conditioner. . Much like a child who has a special talent. .Iwas greeted as an adult. …”What have they done to your hair. .did you not tell them! !! ”  of  course I  didnt. ..especially when it was a no 2 crew cut. .As recently as two years ago my mother on seeing me  whispered  proudly “It is so good to see you still have. ..most of your hair. ..!” and as she drew on her  Benson and Hedges in the garden she basked in the glory of her  hairsuite son

About mauricewoconnell

Maurice OConnell is a Creative based in Cornwall concentrating on Writing and Unique theatrical appearances.. He continues to imagine a world twice as exciting and dangerous than it could possibly ever be View all posts by mauricewoconnell

Leave a Reply

