How is Patrick Maurice ?

​”And how is Patrick ? Maurice …” I turned off the tractor ..stopped the cement mixer and recalibrate our make shift spirit level ..I rested in one of the empty footings to my as yet to be completed Consular building for the post brexit border controls …I took breath with my one lung and began ….” Patrick he is in great form mother he is in Hawaii getting his eyebrows removed ” ..”.Okay Okay I just asked  anyway I.will call you next time ” The phone  went silent ….I still did not know who.Patrick was .Mother had constructed an imaginary best friend for me many years ago, she was neber happy with actual friends and took umbrage when I gave updates on their progression through life …weddings children heartaches promotions …she just didnt care …she always returned to.Patrick from Four Lanes Redruth who  I had never met ….she frequently complained that I seemed to know very little about my dear and good friend patrick ….now 15years into this charade I had given up and my fictional had all sorts of mishaps and a tragic relationship with an imported  alpaca  no matter how outrageous mother chortled with delight with every morsel of news  …I resented Patrick because this deflected affection  and frequently burnt packages mother sent to me to give to Patrick seeing as I had kept his address “secret” …This Christmas I told mother he would be meeting a new girlfriend in Honolulu …mother communicated her disappointment that despite my several marriages Patrick choices seemed more sensible …..I had decided Patrick.was to have a tragic accident and his Hawaiian girlfriend (who happens to share the same name as mine ) who come to cornwall to collect Patricks  dried slug collection , stay awhile and fall in love with me …mother at this point was none the wiser ….bloody Patrick`s days were numbered …

About mauricewoconnell

Maurice OConnell is a Creative based in Cornwall concentrating on Writing and Unique theatrical appearances.. He continues to imagine a world twice as exciting and dangerous than it could possibly ever be View all posts by mauricewoconnell

Comments are disabled.

