The back of a police truck

​There have only been 38 occasions when I was asked or encouraged to travel in the back of a police wagon …and if my memory serves me correctly on no occasion was I suspected of or pressed upon for an indictable offense… one time it was for my own safety and many other times it was under some less visited part of a public order act …I do not recall to destination points of these various journeys ..but with confidence I can say it was never to one of flann obriens favourite police stations Pearse St ….however upon enquiry one will find my registration of my missing bicycle  at the aforementioned station….Britain’s licensing laws do not cover many of  my  youthful pastimes..so I found disputes regarding confinement and curtailment of freedom  best discussed  at a fluorescent lit venue ….one Tuesday morning I found myself with an unfamiliar travelling companion ….we dripped disgust at our mutual discomfort …I broke the silence admiring his attire and we past the time as we were being TRANSFERRED….It became apparent to one of us that one party was a master criminal and a danger to society and that the other was a misanthrop …Each of course believed it was the other …. Soon It was clear our journey was coming to a close ..my dank travelling companion..looked at me straight in the eyes …grabbed  my burberry mackintosh.. he breathed stale tired breathe on my still wet face  he looked Peter Lorre in a moment of rehearsed terror…..In A desperate voice he demanded ” Can you keep a secret?”…..Each of us at some point  have life changing moments dictated by the reckless whims of others. ..at that time I was master of my destiny …I lifted my gaze from my sodden slippery leather shoes …..returned his stare and said “No ..not a bit of it  ..I am a loud blabber mouth  Why do you ask?”..

About mauricewoconnell

Maurice OConnell is a Creative based in Cornwall concentrating on Writing and Unique theatrical appearances.. He continues to imagine a world twice as exciting and dangerous than it could possibly ever be View all posts by mauricewoconnell

Comments are disabled.

