A shoulder to cry on

image

I was never a great listener…but needs must..a friend came to me recently ..well in truth I never met her in my entire life.. she arrived at the cafe in floods of tears …Well she didn’t really but it would help  my story if you thought she had anyway … She was there tears rolling down her cheeks smearing her lavish make up ..after a stormy courtship and an outdated marriage she had married a man her father barely approved of in fact she described in great detail their childish male posturing and mock brawling .. people in the cafe were disturbed by her hysterics and more so by her appalling irish accent .. i offered to get her a skinny latte with soya milk … her spirits lifted ..She recounted how her quiet American husband stormed about their quaint cottage mainly during bad weather ..kicking doors .. he often yanked at her expensive dresses and frequently drew clumps of her flaming auburn  hair …Well I was not quite sure what to say ..He did sound like an awful brute …She did agree but she protested with “we seem to have an onscreen chemistry .”. I had had enough . I STOOD AND GRABBED MAUREEN FIRMLY BY BOTH ARMS AND SHOOK HER …you have got to it stop this right now or every man you meet will treat you the same .. I flung open the door placing my flat cap at a jauntily angle and stormed off straight into an Atlantic gale ……. leaving £5.20 for my flat white and her soya latte

About mauricewoconnell

Maurice OConnell is a Creative based in Cornwall concentrating on Writing and Unique theatrical appearances.. He continues to imagine a world twice as exciting and dangerous than it could possibly ever be View all posts by mauricewoconnell

Leave a Reply

